ELI5: Explain Like I'm 5


Gluten is a type of protein found in some grains, like wheat, barley, and rye. Gluten helps foods like bread and pasta to stay together and have a chewy texture. Some people have an allergic reaction to gluten, so they must not eat anything with gluten in it. Gluten-free foods are made without grains that have glutens, such as wheat, barley and rye, so they don't have any gluten.
Related topics others have asked about: